California Mathematics Project Regional Sites

 

California Mathematics Project regional sites are aligned with the eleven California County Superintendents Education Services Association (CCSESA) regions. No matter where you are in California, there is a California Mathematics Project (CMP) regional site that serves you.

Region 1Region 2Region 3Region 4Region 5Region 6Region 7Region 8Region 9Region 10Region 11

California Mathematics Project: North Coast

Region: 1
Host Institution: Sonoma State University
Satellite Site: Redwood Area Mathematics Project

Doreen Heath Lance, Director
Sonoma State University
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Rohnert Park, CA 94928
(707) 524-2853
dlance@scoe.org

Ben Ford, Faculty Advisor
Sonoma State University
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Rohnert Park, CA 94928
(707) 664-2472
ben.ford@sonoma.edu

Website: https://math.sonoma.edu/activities-initiatives/california-mathematics-project

Chico Math Project

Region: 2
Host Institution: CSU, Chico

Dr. Kat Strand, Director
CSU Chico
(530) 898-5472
klstrand@csuchico.edu

Dr. M.E. Matthews, Co-Director
CSU Chico
(530) 898-5469
mrmatthews@csuchico.edu

Dr. Brian Lindaman, Co-Director
CSU Chico
(530) 898-4107
blindaman@csuchico.edu

Website: http://www.csuchico.edu/cmse/teachers/cmp/index.shtml

California Mathematics Project at Sacramento State

Region: 3
Host Institution: CSU, Sacramento

Debra K. Stetson, Director
CSU Sacramento
6000 J Street
Sacramento, CA 95819
(916) 278-5951
stetson@csus.edu

Dr. Sayonita Ghosh Hajra, Ph.D., PI/Faculty Advisor
sayonita.ghoshhajra@csus.edu

Scott Farrand, Faculty Advisor
sfarrand@csus.edu

Dr. Corey Shanbrom, Faculty Advisor

corey.shanbrom@csus.edu

Website: https://www.sacramentomathproject.org/


UC Davis Math Project

Region: 3
Host Institution: UC, Davis

Denise Brown, Director
University of California, Davis
Department of Mathematics
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
denise.ucdmp@gmail.com

Tim Lewis, Faculty Advisor/PI
University of California, Davis
Department of Mathematics
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
tjlewis@ucdavis.edu

Jim Diederich, Faculty Advisor
University of California, Davis
Department of Mathematics
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
jrdiederich@ucdavis.edu

William E. Tavernetti, Lecturer
University of California, Davis
Department of Mathematics
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
etavernetti@ucdavis.edu

Website: https://mathproject.ucdavis.edu/

Bay Area Mathematics Project (BAMP)

Region: 4
Host Institution: UC, Berkeley

Harold Asturias, Director
University of California, Berkeley
The Lawrence Hall of Science
1 Centennial Drive
Berkeley, CA 94720-5200
ha_@berkeley.edu

David Eisenbud, Faculty Advisor
University of California, Berkeley
909 Evans Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720
de@math.berkeley.edu

Websites:
CSMP BAMP Website
Lawrence Hall of Science BAMP Webpage

Santa Clara Valley Mathematics Project

Region: 5A
Host Institution: San Jose State University

Julie S. Spitzer, Director/Faculty Advisor
San Jose State University
Department of Mathematics
1 Washington Square
San Jose, CA 95192-0103
(408) 924-5120
julie.sliva@sjsu.edu

Joanne Rossi Becker, Professor Emerita
San Jose State University
Department of Mathematics
1 Washington Square
San Jose, CA 95192-0103
joanne.rossibecker@sjsu.edu

Suzanne Damm, Co-Director
San Jose State University
Department of Mathematics
1 Washington Square
San Jose, CA 95192-0103
(408) 924-5074
sdamm52@gmail.com

Website: http://csmp.ucop.edu/home/site_detail/126/23


Monterey Bay Area Mathematics Project

Region: 5B
Host Institution: UC, Santa Cruz

Sumita Jaggar, Acting Director
University of California, Santa Cruz
Mathematics Department
McHenry 4th Floor, Room 4147
1156 High St.
Santa Cruz, CA 95064
sjaggar@ucsc.edu

Michelle Voorhees, Program Coordinator
University of California, Santa Cruz
Mathematics Department
McHenry 4th Floor, Room 4147
1156 High St.
Santa Cruz, CA 95064
(831) 459-2150
voorhees@ucsc.edu

Pedro Morales-Almazan, Principle Investigator
University of California, Santa Cruz
Mathematics Department
McHenry 4th Floor, Room 4147
1156 High St.
Santa Cruz, CA 95064
pmorale5@ucsc.edu

Website: https://mbamp.ucsc.edu/

Central California Mathematics Project

Region: 6
Host Institution: CSU, Stanislaus

Dr. Heather Coughlin, Co-Director/PI
CSU Stanislaus
One University Circle
Turlock, CA 95382
(209) 667-3444
HCoughlin@csustan.edu

Dr. Björg Jóhannsdóttir, Co-Director/Faculty Advisor
bjohannsdottir@csustan.edu

Website: http://csmp.ucop.edu/home/site_detail/60/23

San Joaquin Valley Mathematics Project – California Math Project at Fresno State

Region: 7
Host Institution: CSU, Fresno

Lynette Guzmán, Director & PI
San Joaquin Valley Mathematics Project
California State University, Fresno
Education Building Room 254
5005 Maple Ave., M/S ED 2
Fresno, CA 93740-8025
(559) 278-0328
ldguzman@csufresno.edu

Yaomingxin Lu, Co-director & Co-PI
(559) 278-5247
yaomingxinlu@csufresno.edu

Carol Fry Bohlin, Co-PI
(559) 278-0328
carolb@csufresno.edu

NeFesha Yisra’el Co-PI
(559) 278-1082
nefesha@mail.fresnostate.edu

Website: http://www.fresnostate.edu/kremen/about/centers-projects/sjvmp/

Cal Poly SLO/CSU Bakersfield Mathematics Project

Region: 8
Host Institution: CSU, Bakersfield

Terran Felter, Director
CSU Bakersfield
9001 Stockdale Hwy
Bakersfield, CA 93311
(661) 654-6835
tfelter@csub.edu

Kate Riley, Co-Director
Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
(805) 756-5070
kriley@calpoly.edu

Website: http://csmp.ucop.edu/home/site_detail/40/23


UCSB Mathematics Project

Region: 8
Host Institution: UC, Santa Barbara

Christopher Ograin, Director & Faculty Advisor
Gevirtz Graduate School of Education
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9490
(805) 893-5912
ograin@ucsb.edu

Website: http://ucsbmathproject.education.ucsb.edu

California Math Project at UC Irvine

Region: 9A
Host Institution: UC, Irvine

Mark Finkelstein, Director/Faculty Advisor
University of California, Irvine
5171 California Avenue, Suite 150
Irvine, CA 92697
(949) 824-5538
mfinkels@uci.edu

Karajean Hyde, Co-Director
University of California, Irvine
5171 California Avenue, Suite 150
Irvine, CA 92697
(949) 824-6278
khyde@uci.edu

Amanda Givens, Co-Director
givensa@uci.edu

Kris Houston, Co-Director
houstonk@uci.edu

Jeff Hruby, Co-Director
jhruby@uci.edu

Danyelle Dale, Co-Director
ddale@uci.edu

Website: http://www.cfep.uci.edu/imp/


California Mathematics Project at CSU Fullerton

Region: 9A
Host Institution: CSU, Fullerton

David L. Pagni, Director
CSU Fullerton, Dept of Mathematics
800 N. State Collge Blvd.
Fullerton, CA 92834
(657) 278-2671
dpagni@fullerton.edu

Paul Deland, Faculty Advisor
CSU Fullerton, Dept of Mathematics
800 N. State Collge Blvd.
Fullerton, CA 92834
(657) 278-5024
deland@fullerton.edu

Website: http://csmp.ucop.edu/home/site_detail/104/23


San Diego Mathematics Project

Region: 9B
Host Institution: San Diego State University

San Diego State University
Center for Research in Mathematics & Science Education
6475 Alvarado Road, Suite 206
San Diego, CA. 92120-5013

Dr. Nick Johnson, Director
nick.johnson@sdsu.edu

Cecilia Necoechea, Administrative Coordinator
cnecoech@sdsu.edu

Dinah Brown, CGI Professional Development Collaborative
https://crmse.sdsu.edu/pdc
dlbrown@sdsu.edu

Website: https://crmse.sdsu.edu/projects/sd_math_project


UC San Diego Mathematics Project

Region: 9B
Host Institution: University of California San Diego

Dr. Osvaldo “Ovie” Soto, Director
Phone: 858-361-0331
osoto@ucsd.edu

Joan Commons, Co-Director
Phone: 858 722 9446
jcommons@ucsd.edu

Susan Yonezawa, Co-Director
Phone: (858) 822-2271
syonezawa@ucsd.edu 

Jeff Rabin, Math Faculty Advisor
Phone: (858) 534-2904
jrabin@ucsd.edu

Website: mathproject.ucsd.edu

Inland Counties Mathematics Project

Region: 10
Host Institution: CSU, San Bernardino

Kelli Wasserman, Director
CSU San Bernardino
5500 University Parkway
San Bernardino, CA 92407
kwasserman@csusb.edu

Jeremy Aikin, Co-Director
jaikin@csusb.edu

Madeleine Jetter, Co-Director
mjetter@csusb.edu

Website: https://www.csusb.edu/ceme

UCLA Mathematics Project

Region: 11A
Host Institution: UC, Los Angeles

Kristine Ho, Site Director
University of California, Los Angeles
UCLA GSEIS/Center X
1320 Moore Hall Box 951521
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1521
krho@gseis.ucla.edu

Marty Romero, Faculty Advisor
(714) 564-6640
romero_martin@sac.edu
https://tinyurl.com/y6vd23un

Website: http://centerx.gseis.ucla.edu/math-project


CSU Dominguez Hills Mathematics Project

Region: 11B
Host Institution: CSU, Dominguez Hills

Matthew G. Jones, Director
CSU Dominguez Hills
1000 E. Victoria
Carson, CA 90747
(310) 243-2410
mjones@csudh.edu

Sharon Lanaghan, Co-Director
CSU Dominguez Hills
1000 E. Victoria
Carson, CA 90747
(310) 243-3705
slanaghan@csudh.edu

Kristen Rovira, Co-Director
CSU Dominguez Hills
1000 E. Victoria
Carson, CA 90747
(310) 243-2367
kstagg@csudh.edu

Carolyn Yarnall, Co-Director
CSU Dominguez Hills
1000 E. Victoria
Carson, CA 90747
(310) 243-3955
cyarnall@csudh.edu

Website: https://www.csudh.edu/math/california-math-project/


California Mathematics Project at Cal Poly Pomona

Region: 11C
Host Institution: Cal Poly Pomona

Cristina Runnalls, Director 
Cal Poly Pomona Dept. of Math & Statistics
3801 W. Temple Ave.3801
Pomona, CA 91768
909-869-4371
ccrunnalls@cpp.edu

Website: https://tinyurl.com/2j8jrmtn

CA map of school regions - CCSESA Arts Initiative